Keeping a straight face- Trousers for Mr Thrifty

For the last couple of weeks I’ve been working on drafting blocks for myself, taking my time and second guessing everything. I enjoy pattern-making but I’m finding it hard to do it for “myself”. I’m happier drafting for other people, and yay for me- Mr Thrifty (aka unexpectedideaman) needed new trousers.

I love a bit of procrastination so my personal blocks are on hold at the moment because DH is/was in urgent need of more work trousers. The stash his mother made him years ago are past their “best before” date and he refuses to buy from department stores because they don’t fit right. His idea of the perfect fit is like most beer-bellied men, the waistline has to sit below the gut. Anything higher than that and he complains that they dig in or ride up. If he wears them under his gut all I can see is pools of fabric across his lap or a baggy bottom. Shopping with him for pants (I’m an Aussie! We call ’em pants!) was an exhausting and fruitless exercise. I now know why his mother made his last batch!

The pattern his mother used still fits him but it isn’t particularly flattering. So, being a good little Mrs, I drafted a block for him. Unlike making things for myself, making the block/sloper/fit pattern for him happened in just a couple of days. I cut out a toile and sewed it up the next day. Technically it was a half toile(?), I only bothered with one leg because I knew it would need adjustment. So far, so good.

When Mr Thrifty arrived home from work I told him that we were ready for the first fit. He popped them on and truthfully- they weren’t that bad at first sight.

But here’s where it gets silly. Mr Thrifty is super-dooper ticklish. When I tried to move the back seam to where it should sit, he jumped and ran away. I explained to him that I wasn’t tickling him on purpose but he was a bundle of twitches and giggles the whole time. Once he had settled down a bit more and given me a chance to examine his rear end- I’m happy to say I am very pleased with the back view of the trousers. The pattern his mother was using left an excess of fabric at his rear that wasn’t particularly attractive.

Then we get to the next part- How does the front fit?
They sit under his gut where he wanted them which is good but oh my, oh dear, ummm… I’ve never toiled men’s trousers before.

When you’re face to face with HALF a pair of trousers, examining the front crotch curve for fit… It was my turn to erupt into childish giggles. I have no issues whatsoever with handling lady-bits… but well, umm… man-bits are new territory for me! I couldn’t get my head around what was wrong or where to change it. It does need to change, there’s not enough room for him to be comfortable but after staring at that region for an uncomfortable amount of time I decided to just take some photos and look again later when I wasn’t rolling around laughing. I guess a benefit of a photo is that is can’t stare back or distract me by making jokes. 

I’ve since made some adjustments to the first draft and I’ll be starting draft number two in a few more days. Next time however- I will make a WHOLE pair!

One thought on “Keeping a straight face- Trousers for Mr Thrifty

  1. nehmah

    You have my whole-hearted empathy sent from Tennessee. I am currently making the Lord and Master pants (in the South, men wear “paints”) Our contretemps had to do with where one’s waistline is. It took a bit, no, a LOT of visual evidence before he “allowed” his waist was not at the mid-point of the hipbone. He then asked the near-fatal for our love life question, “What’s wrong with where the waistband goes, now?” Exasperated, and not thinking, I grabbed the front of the muslin/toile and hoiked it up, almost to his proper waist. This immediately and with much anguished protest, “Ouch, STOP, that hurts!” I stopped and so did the fitting. I will proceed without any future fittings. I hope to do as well as you. Nehmah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

